Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: valuation scam?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18

    valuation scam?

    i posted my domain on flippa since i'm getting only 20 unique visitors a month even when it's on the front page of Google.

    Then i get an email from some guy offering to buy it. it smelled a bit fishy, and i love learning about new internet scams, so i told him to make an offer.

    This is what i got back:

    I have a 48,000 USD budget for 5-8 domain names. Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? Without a valuation certificate we cannot be sure in the sale price. Moreover, my accountant and tax services always ask for valaution certificates :-). On the other side, it's very important for me in terms of reselling too. Of course, we must engage a valuation company with a REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from independent sources I and my accountant trust.

    To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies. Please check this blog with suggestions from other sellers and buyers:
    (link removed by moderator)

    If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% - 15% discount.

    After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to obtain it) we'll continue our negotiations. Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name? Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary.

    What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire transfer, PayPal.com or something else?

    Hope we can come to an agreement fast.

    Looking forward to your reply.
    i'm guessing that once i click that link i'll either get a virus, or they'll ask me for my bank number and drain my account or something fun like that.
    no one in their right mind would pay such a sum for my domain and this email seems like it's very generic, so to me it sounds like a scam.

    just thought it's share...
    Last edited by BAMBI; 10-08-2010 at 06:52 PM. Reason: removed link

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Melbourne Australia.
    Posts
    825
    Yeah I've seen it around Trak - I think they tend to send you to a list to an approved "appraisal" site which will "appraise" your site - for a fee of course!! Of course once you have & email that appraisal they will either ignore you or tell you that your site is not worth buying or similar. You are wise to ignore such rubbish - the only *market appraisal* that ever counts is how much a genuine buyer actually pays you for the site. That's why Flippa is so good - it gets your site out there in front of an audience that's actually willing to buy sites.

    Bill
    Bill Thomson Challenge Veteran!
    "If you never take the first step... You cannot go too far... So get a move on... JUMP IN!" (High Places)

    Bill on Twitter

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
 
 
Copyright © 2010, challenge.co All Rights Reserved.